What I’m Reading Right Now

Hi!

I know I’ve been dreadful for posting reviews here in the recent far-too-long, so I thought I’d start to ease myself back into regular posting with a brief post about what I’m reading right now.

I’ve recently returned to studies at University for the third and final year of my degree and I’m really enjoying it so far. Seeing as I read pretty compulsively anyway, the amount of reading I’m now doing in relation to my course is quite a volume of stuff. So, I thought I’d let you know what I’m getting up to.

books pic
I’m realising now that the datestamp on my camera is a year out of date. Apologies.

The Visitor by Katherine Stansfield (Cardigan: Parthian, 2013)

I bought this as soon as it was released because I was quite excited about it. Katherine Stansfield is a lectuerer at my University (Aberystwyth) and I already admire her a lot as a teacher, so I really wanted to read her book. I started it the other day when I had about half an hour to spare and not very far in, with a huge amount of willpower, put it down because I decided I just need to have a whole day to take it in all together. I haven’t read much yet but I’m sure I’m going to love it. Once I have read it, I may review it here!

Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy (London: Pocket Books, 2005) and The Equality Illusion by Kat Banyard (London: Faber and Faber, 2010)

These two library loans are a part of my ongoing attempts at self-education and so I’ve popped them together on this list. I’ve heard Female Chauvinist Pigs recommended quite extensively online in different feminist sources and communities, so thought it was worth a read, and The Equality Illusion similarly. Being a student I can’t afford to frequently buy books that I’m not sure I’ll read and find useful.
I’m about a third of the way through Female Chauvinist Pigs so far, and I certainly recognise the proliferation of ‘raunch culture’ that Ariel Levy talks about. It’s something that’s found a breeding ground in University ‘lad’ culture.

Research for Writers, 7th Edn by Ann Hoffman (London: Black Publishers, 2003)

I bought this ex-library copy second hand online and I’m very pleased I did – for less than a fiver I got this almost perfect condition copy. I love library books, especially reference books; I love the idea of all the other people who have read it before me.
Principally, I’ve bought this because I’ve been frequently checking it out of the University library for the past two years, but they have only the one copy and I decided it was time I invested in my own copy! It’s full of useful resources and advice, something I’d recommend for any writer; recently I’ve been re-reading the section on biography and autobiography since I am studying life writing this semester.

 

So, I hope this was in some way interesting and will hopefully be back with a book review for you soon!

 

The DoodleMole

What are you reading at the moment? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

