Favourite Book From Your Favourite Series (4/30 – 30 Day Book Challenge)

The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

the looking glass wars 1

I’ve given you a big image of the cover of this one, because I just think it’s gorgeous.  Something about it has always caught me. For years, this artwork was the wallpaper on my phone. That’s the kind of relationship I’ve had with this book.

I did enjoy the whole trilogy of these books, but personally for me – it’s this one that makes it brilliant. Maybe because I was a lot younger when I read this (~10/11, I think), and I was firmly into my teens by the time I found the sequels. The first book was a part of my cementing phase of reading, when I formed real long-term favourites. I was forming my love of books and finding what I wanted in books, and what I liked in a writer. This one captured my heart.

I’ve always been someone that can whiz through a book pretty fast, but when I love something generally I’ll come back to it repeatedly – which is what I did with this.

I cannot quite apply coherent words to express why I am such a huge fan of this book – I can just sigh and clasp my hands to my heart and say, oh, it’s wonderful. Read it. Instructed.

This is a re-imagining of Alice in Wonderland, with war and powers of imagination and proper card soldiers and also Queen Victoria’s son. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

