A Book That Makes You Happy (5/30 – 30 Day Book Challenge)

Wonder by R.J. Palacio

wonder

This is one that I initially bought on my Kindle to read, having seen it about, and I fell so hard in love with it after two reads on Kindle that I bought myself a paperback copy.

This book is gorgeous. It is an amazing for so many reasons, and the ending always leaves me with a massive grin and often a happy tear in my eye.

I feel the big-gun bullet points coming on. This book is amazing for many reasons, but here are a few heavyweight ones:

  • It is a master-class in rounded stories and differences of perspective. We get the POV of most of the main characters in this book, while still focusing on August (the protagonist).
  • It is a mirror. You will have to look at yourself and think about the manifestations of ableism you’ve been a part of. You will realise that you can be better. You will be better.
  • It is a child’s perspective on complex issues. Which is amazing, because the bias so often with complex things is to think of them as somehow automatically adult.

Also, while the subject matter might be weighty, this is not a difficult book. It’s a children’s book, technically, but I was 20 when it came out. I dunno if you can tell, but I kind of love it. It’s a children’s book that isn’t just for children.

Actually, this book reminds me of something Madeleine L’Engle once said –
You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if it will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.

Leave a Reply

