Favourite Female Character (16/30 – 30 Day Book Challenge)

Every time I try to think about my favourite female character, my minds gets sidetracked with my favourite female characters from TV shows (Zoe Washburne from Firefly, in case you’re interested). Apparently I’m not very good at picking favourites. So again, I will punt for a character that I really love, even if I can’t unequivocally say they’re my favourite.

Sam from The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

perks of being a wallflower

 I read this book in one sitting when I was about seventeen or eighteen (I think). I been ever so slightly in love with it (and with Sam) since then.

She’s a magnificently funny, kind, sensitive, witty, beautiful girl. All filtered through Charlie’s perception of her of course, him being the narrator. Maybe we just see her as he does. But who he sees is quite marvellous really. I can’t adequately expound on any of it really, when the book so magnificently articulates itself. You’ll just have to read it.

Leave a Reply

