Christmas & January Book Haul

Hey there!

I thought I was doing really well – I has this post all written up and saved. I was planning to log in this morning, publish it and then get on with writing a review to post in a couple of days’ time. Unfortunately, I either imagined writing it or imagined saving it! I did carry on to write it again, but got halfway through and lost that version. Deep breath. C’est la vie, I suppose – third time lucky!

I was given some wonderful books for Christmas and have made a couple of purchases in the New Year when I spotted exciting-looking things in sales. Let me know if you’ve read any of them, recommend them, or would like me to prioritise reading one to write a review!

More Fool Me by Stephen Fry

More Fool Me by Stephen Fry. Image from stephenfry.com
More Fool Me by Stephen Fry. Image from stephenfry.com

This was a Christmas gift from my lovely husband. I have both of Fry’s previous memoirs, Moab is my Washpot and The Fry Chronicles and thoroughly enjoyed them. I am really looking forward to this; I love autobiography of interesting people, and Stephen Fry is someone I admire.

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

Divergent boxed set by Veronica Roth. Image from waterstones.com
Divergent boxed set by Veronica Roth. Image from waterstones.com

I read this series in November last year, from borrowed copies. I absolutely loved it. Dystopian isn’t usually my favourite genre, but I’ve recently enjoyed it rather more – I always found it too stressful before. My parents’ gave me this beautiful boxset, which includes Four, a collection of short stories and scenes, and World of Divergent, a little booklet of informational titbits about the series.
This series is really important to me – for some reason, I connected with it in a way I haven’t with a book for a long time. It was that intense, teenager kind of adoration – I was totally swept away by them. That may be due to the time in my life that I chose to read them. In any case – I’m so happy to have my own set!

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. Image from waterstones.com
We Are All Completely Besides Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. Image from waterstones.com

I’ve seen this on shelves for a while, and curiosity finally got the better of me in the supermarket the other day. The synopsis is intriguing, and sounds similar to The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer, which I’m currently reading.

Girl meets boy by Ali Smith

Girl meets boy by Ali Smith. Image from waterstones.com
Girl meets boy by Ali Smith. Image from waterstones.com

Two things I love: Ali Smith’s writing, and re-imaginings of classical Greek myth. I was never going to resist this book. I saw it recommended by another book blogger as a next step after Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles.

Let me know if you have any thoughts on these books in the comments! I’ll be back in a couple of days with a review of Trouble by Non Pratt.

Find these books at Waterstones:
More Fool Me
Divergent Boxed Set
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
Girl meets boy

Leave a Reply

