Review: ‘The Five People You Meet in Heaven’ by Mitch Albom

What can I say about this book. It’s older than the others I’ve read so far this year, having been first published in 2003. It’s a book that is on most people’s radar – if you haven’t read it, you’ve probably heard about it.

TheFivePeopleYouMeetInHeaven

Since it came out more than a decade ago I am quite late to the party on this one, so my comments are pretty short – I don’t have much to add to the conversation that hasn’t been said before and better!

Quick synopsis: Eddie, head of maintenance at an amusement park named Ruby Pier, dies in an accident. The main course of the novel narrates his experiences in the afterlife, where he meets five people whose lives intersected with his and whom explain things to him he had not understood.

Mostly, I’m glad I finally got around to reading it, because it is a beautiful book. At times painful and sad, but simultaneously hopeful. It explores one of the most fundamental struggles we have as human beings – the ability to imagine other people as complexly as they are, to even understand our own life. I have a feeling that it is the sort of book I will reread in a few years, and gain something different from each reading.

All I can say is that if you are still in the camp of ‘have not read’, I would highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

