June Weekend ‘Book Haul’

Hello there!

I don’t often post ‘hauls’ – largely because I try not to buy many books at once! But this weekend I was away from home and I got a little carried away. I’m really excited about reading every single one of these, and so I felt like sharing! So without further ado…

Cloudstreet

Cloudstreet by Tim Winton

This book was recommended to me as being similar to my writing style and therefore useful to me by my personal tutor in university. I read some of it while I was in university from a library copy, but I’m excited to read it at a more leisurely pace, and to have my own copy! Using lots of perspectives and very divided-up, sectioned prose, this novel is about two families fleeing to the city, starting their lives again, at No 1 Cloudstreet. Described as a ‘great family drama’, set in Australia, which are aspects of some of the novels I’ve loved the most, I can’t wait to get into this.

Hotel World

Hotel World by Ali Smith

My Ali Smith collection keeps growing! I can’t resist her writing, and this novel about five people connected to one branch of the ubiquitous Global Hotel chain sounds captivating.

Norwegian Wood

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

Ah Murakami! I’ve only read his short story collection titled The Elephant Vanishes, which I adored. I always see quotes on Tumblr and Pinterest from Murakami books that are breathtakingly lovely. After reading synopses of all his novels on Goodreads and agonising for a while in Waterstones, I’ve decided to start with Norwegian Wood, a novel about Toru Watanabe recalling his first love – his best friend’s girlfriend.

The Gracekeepers

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

Having heard so much about this book in the past few weeks – and having more than one friend who’s heard of it tell me it sounds ‘very me’ – I couldn’t resist this. Quite apart from anything else, the hardback edition is gorgeous. This is the story of a girl called North and her pet bear who live on a circus ship travelling the world. I’ve heard it compared to The Night Circus, which is enough of a recommendation for me!

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks

This is a bit of a classic, and on many people’s ‘Books I Always Meant to Read’, including mine. This book is about patients struggling to adapt to the world they inhabit with neurological disorders – people who can no longer recognise objects as themselves, or the people they love.
Sapiens

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari

The title kind of tells you it all here, and I am so excited about this that it was only about ten minutes after I got home that I first dipped in to read the first chapter. This book opens with a timeline of history, which in two pages moves from 13.5 billion years before the present (the creation of matter and energy) up the The Present and The Future. This is one I will be reading slowly, to try and absorb as much as possible of the spectacular information hiding in its pages.

Hopefully I will make it through these books reasonably soon… I’ve been managing a lot more reading ‘new stuff’ in the past few months.

I will be back pretty soon with a review of The King’s Curse by Phillippa Gregory, which I finished last week.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

