Review: ‘the first person and other stories’ by Ali Smith

As I may have mentioned here before, I love Ali Smith.the first person and other stories

That being a given, this review will probably be very short, because all I have for these stories is praise. They are succinct, concise, tightly controlled, poignant, strange and haunting. While each works beautifully as an individual piece, they speak to each other in unexpected ways, linking up days after reading when I thought I was thinking about something else. Smith’s prose, as always, is perfectly pared down to speak directly, without any frills attempting to decorate the unnecessary.

Of the collection, I think I most enjoyed ‘Present’ – a story completely physically tied to one moment and one scenario, which somehow unravels whole lives and ideas about memory, perfection and company.

Leave a Reply

