DoodleMole Answers | Part One

55 Reading Questions – found via tumblr
My replies to several questions made this quite long, so I’ve split it into two halves which I will post a week apart! Let me know if you enjoy Part 1!

  • 1. Favorite childhood book?
    Goodnight Mister Tom / The Railway Children
  • 2. What are you reading right now?
    The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan and Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari
  • 3. What books do you have on request at the library?
    Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria
  • 4. Bad book habit?
    Leaving them open face-down to keep my place when I pause for a moment!
  • 5. What do you currently have checked out of the library?
    Just Listen by Sarah Dessen, and Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  • 6. Do you have an e-reader?
    I have an original Kindle (with a keyboard) which was my husband’s originally. Mine broke a couple of years ago, and he insisted I use his, because he’s a sweetie. I use it sometimes for reading in bed, as it’s easier to handle, or to search something for specific phrases and characters, especially if I’m writing on a particular book. I do prefer physical books though!
  • 7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
    I think I prefer to be absorbed in one book and read it uninterrupted, but that often isn’t how I actually read! I tend to have a couple of books on the go at once, usually one fiction and one non-fiction or memoir.
  • 8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
    My reading habits have changed a lot this year because of my resolution to read more new books, rather than safely re-reading my favourites. I’ve also been making an effort this year to make time to read again, rather than always switching Netflix on!  While my habits have definitely changed, though, I don’t think it’s been to do with having a blog. They’ve become more closely linked this year because of my resolution to post about every new book I read though!
  • 9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far)
    I’ve enjoyed all the books I’ve read this year, but the ones that have made the least lasting impression on me were Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe and All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher.
  • 10. Favourite book you’ve read this year?
    Without a doubt, I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.
  • 11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
    A lot more often recently! I’ve recently read more post-apocalyptic fiction that I wouldn’t have dared to start a couple of years ago. There are still certain things I don’t touch though, because there’s a lot of books to read and I don’t see a reason to read books I’m not interested in when there’s such a wealth of ones that I am interested in to get through!
  • 12. What is your reading comfort zone?
    War-centric books aren’t my thing – and I don’t read them often at all. I never read horror and very, very rarely read thriller, for good reason – they stress me out! I want to enjoy reading, not wake up with nightmares from it!
  • 13. Can you read on the bus?
    No, I get a lot of motion sickness!
  • 14. Favourite place to read?
    In the living room of my flat, I have an armchair. Behind it I have a floor-lamp which gives the perfect light for reading comfortably, and next to it I’ve got a little table, under which are most of our cuddly toys. It’s the perfect place: cosy, well lit, and with space to have a cup of tea!
  • 15. What is your policy on book lending?
    I doo lend my books, cautiously, to about five people – and then I keep a note of who has what in the back of my diary!
  • 16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
    My only dog-eared copies are ones I’ve had for more than a decade! Or the ones that took unfortunate tumbles down the stairs or got dropped over the side of the bed when I dropped off to sleep!
  • 17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
    Only textbooks and reference books. I have some old schoolbooks that I did write in – a very tatty GCSE copy of Romeo and Juliet springs to mind! – but for years now, if I’m studying a book and want to make notes in it, I make them on pieces of paper and use them as bookmarks, or write them on post-it notes and stick them in.
  • 18. Not even with text books?
    I like that the writer of these questions assumes that everyone emphatically said no to the previous question!
  • 19. What is your favourite language to read in?
    English. I’ve not been dedicated enough to reach reading proficiency in any other languages.
  • 20. What makes you love a book?
    Intricacy, imagination, strong world-building, compelling characters and plot. As a reader, I look for a really strong narrative voice.
  • 21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
    I used to recommend something just because I loved it, but recently I’ve been more aware that often I love a book based on something very specific to me as a reader that made me connect with it. It might even be partly to do with the time in my life I read it and the mood I was in at the time that I connected strongly with something, so on that basis, I tend to recommend books individually to specific people rather than recommending anything as a blanket rule. I think it’s unrealistic to think everyone will like a book – that book never has and never will be written!
  • 22. Favourite genre?
    I honestly don’t know, I just couldn’t rank them!
  • 23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)?
    Fantasy and sci-fi
  • 24. Favourite biography?
    Why be happy when you could be normal? by Jeanette Winterson (which is actually an autobiography, but it’s fantastic)
  • 25.  Have you ever read a self-help book?
    Yep, quite a few actually! On CV-writing, interviews, anxiety, budgeting… lots of them!
  • 26. Favourite cookbook?
    The Kitchen Diaries Vol. II by Nigel Slater
  • 27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
    Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling. As a recent graduate, I felt her advice was very relevant to me and I found it very reassuring.
  • 28. Favourite reading snack?
    Tea and Lindt Lindor chocolates!
Leave a Reply

