Purchases: August 2015

Oh, this month is half joy and half torment, with so many amazing books coming out. I’ve also bought a couple of books which have been out for some time, but will be totally new to me.

I’ve been having a bit of a reading slump at the moment – possibly because with a new full time job, I’m still settling into a new rhythm and figuring out when my reading time is these days. To try and ease this, I’ve been choosing books that I know I’ll find easy to get through, choosing authors whose work I know I love, and going for more novellas and short story collections.

naive super

Naive. Super by Erlend Loe

This Norwegian novel translated into English is something I’ve bought on recommendation from my favourite BookTuber, Jen Campbell. I don’t remember which video she first mentioned it in, and I think she’s mentioned it a couple of times, but based on her comments I think it sounds like something I will enjoy. It’s quite a small book, about a 25-year-old man seeking meaning in his life.

the tiny wife

The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman

I recently finished All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman, which I absolutely loved (review coming soon!). This is another novella of his, which looks to be just as charmingly direct. A thief walks into a bank and takes no money. Instead, from each person there he demands the item of most sentimental value they have on them. After the incident, all those people then experience strange consequences…
The paperback edition I have is also very charmingly illustrated. Really looking forward to this!

New Releases

a portable shelter

A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan
The new offering of short stories from the author of The Gracekeepers, published in hardback for a limited run of 1000 copies, and those copies are just so gorgeous… how was I to resist? That’s what I’m saying to myself anyhow. Genuinely though, this book is just – so – beautiful. And the subject matter of this collection is such a gorgeously seductive concept, with gorgeous illustrations as well, it is 100% up my street.

the rest of us just live her

The Rest of us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness

This is a pre-order which is not released until 27th August; I’ve even gone for the signed special edition. I love the concept – that if you are living in a dystopian world, as so many YA books focus on, but you are not the chosen one – not the one who will lead the revolution, but someone to whom it’s actually more important to pass your exams and go to prom – what is that experience like?
Rosianna Halse Rojas did a fantastic interview with Patrick Ness about YA fiction and feeling different on her YouTube channel where they revealed the cover for The Rest of Us Just Live Here, which you can watch here.
the taming of the queen

The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory

After recently reading The King’s Curse and loving it, I was so excited about this novel’s release. Knowing the I prefer to read paperback over hardback, I was in a bit of a dither, between wanting to read this as soon as possible, and the fact the paperback won’t be out until June next year. The whole thing was decided for me when I was accosted by it half price in Waterstones!

This book is about Henry VIII’s final queen, Kateryn Parr, whom until now was the only one Gregory had not written about. The first chapter was released as a taster a few weeks ago and I was desperate to keep reading. I’m quite confident that I will have finished this one before the end of the month!

I hope you enjoyed this little look at some of my recent purchases – I will be back again soon with a review!

Leave a Reply

