Review: ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ Series by Jen Campbell

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

I’ve mentioned Jen Campbell several times on this blog before, usually in the context of having taken a recommendation from her wonderful BookTube Channel.

If you like books and haven’t visited her YouTube channel before then, oh my, are you in for a treat.

In a nutshell, if it isn’t obvious yet, I think Jen Campbell is spectacular, and you should check out her work. She has published three non-fiction books – the two I am reviewing today and The Bookshop Book, a poetry pamphlet called The Hungry Ghost Festival with the Rialto, as well as numerous poems, short stories and flash fiction in various places which she talks a little about in this video (link will take you to the relevant part of the video!)

More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops

Right now though, I want to talk about her two humour books. I read these some time ago and then completely neglected to review them. I read both of them in a single sitting and giggled the whole way through, frequently having to read some things out to my husband because they were just too funny to keep all to myself. I had to share the joy.

These books are precisely what they say on the cover – collections of the entertaining and weird things customers say in bookshops, to booksellers and to each other. Jen Campbell includes stories from the bookshops she has worked in as well as others from booksellers all over the world.

I wholeheartedly recommend these to any book and bookshop lover for a really good chuckle, and a relaxing read with some charming illustrations to boot. I left these books feeling uplifted, reassured that people are amazing, silly and very, very strange, and that apparently, pretty much anything can happen in a bookshop. Actually, I’d just recommend you seek out any work you can of Jen Campbell’s – a wonderfully talented woman.

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ Series by Jen Campbell

Leave a Reply

