September: Dystopian Themed Reading Month

For the month of September I will be reading and reviewing specifically dystopian literature!

It’s worth noting – I do have several reviews of other books waiting that I want to post, as I want to keep this record of new books I have read updated, so there may be other posts going up as well. Each post specific to my Dystopian theme for the month will be marked as such, and I have made a category specifically for the relevant posts to be collected in.

This evening I have been getting through the last part of The strange and beautiful sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton, and the next thing I pick up will be within my theme!

So, here are some books I might look at reading this month, in the spirit of a good dysptopia (there’s an oxymoron for you). I highly doubt I will get through all of these, so if you have any recommendations for ones I should prioritise, let me know in comments! I’ve got a mix of adult and YA fiction in here, quite a range of authors and lengths, so I’m interested to see what I enjoy most once I dive into them.

The Handmaid's Tale

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Chimes Anna Smaill

The Chimes by Anna Smaill
the rest of us just live herThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
The Knife of Never Letting Go Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Book 1 of the Chaos Walking series)

The Stone Gods

The Stone Gods by Jeanette Winterson

Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Book of Strange New Things

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber

Slated

Slated by Terri Terry (Book 1 of a trilogy)

I intend to start with The Chimes, by Anna Smaill, so hopefully I will be back before long with a review. In the meantime, some reviews and posts that will be going up soon:

  • All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman
  • The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman
  • The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory
  • The strange and beautiful sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton
  • Top 5 Books of 2015 so far
  • Cecelia Ahern’s Where Rainbows End and Love, Rosie – Book to Film Adaptation Review

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

