Top 5 of 2015 So Far | January – August 2015 Review

This is the first year I’ve set myself proper reading goals and stuck to them. That being so, and being almost three-quarters of the way through the year now, I wanted to take a moment to think about my reading progress and consider the things I’ve read so far this year.

The books I’ve read this year so far (written in colour to make the list look slightly more exciting) have been:

  1. The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer
  2. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
  3. Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  4. Love, Ninaby Nina Stibbe
  5. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  6. Very Good Lives by JK Rowling
  7. All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  8. The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory
  9. the first person and other stories by Ali Smith
  10. The Bees by Carol Ann Duffy
  11. Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins
  12. Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins
  13. Isla and the Happily Ever After, by Stephanie Perkins
  14. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  15. A Little in Love by Susan Fletcher
  16. Every Woman for Herself by Trisha Ashley
  17. Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbel
  18. More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell
  19. All My Friends are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman – Review Pending
  20. The Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman – Review Pending
  21. The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory – Review Pending
  22. The strange and beautiful sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – Review Pending
  23. The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan – Only Half Finished
  24. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaria – Only Half Finished

My target for the year is 40 books, excluding re-reads – which leaves me 16 books to go in the next four months. That is actually less than one book a week, so I think that it is (hopefully) still achievable!

Of the books I’ve read so far this year, I’ve really enjoyed most of them. Certain books really stood out, so this list is composed of those it just felt wrong not to mention.

In no particular order… except for my absolute favourite!

Joint together are:

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
Station Eleven

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
anna and the french kissThe Tiny Wife by Andrew Kaufman
the tiny wifeThe Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
The GracekeepersAnd, my favourite book of the year so far….

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
I'll give you the sun cover imgWhat have been your favourites reads so far this year? Let me know in comments! Have you read any of the same books? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

