Lunchtime Book Haul (August 2015)

You know those trips when you walk into a bookshop and several just effortlessly climb into your hands and ask if they can come live with you? That happened to me.

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

Gilead

On the Man Booker Prize Longlist for this year is a book called Lila by Marilynne Robinson, which is the third book in not-quite-a-series, but a collection of related companion novels, of which this is the first. The blurb of this novel intrigued me, so I’m starting here to see whether I enjoy Robinson’s writing, and perhaps I will continue with her other works.

The concept: Reverend John Ames is reaching the end of his life, and begins a letter to his young son.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid's Tale

I want to read Margaret Atwood, I want to read more dystopian literature, I want to read texts about women, and this is a great place to start on all of those things. One of those books that was inevitably going to make it onto my shelves.

The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

The VIrgin Suicides

Another inevitable purchase, I think. The five Lisbon sisters all die, and everyone wonders why. This is one I’ve been hearing a lot about for a long time.

If you’ve read any of these let me know, and I’ll be back again soon!

Leave a Reply

