2016 Reading Resolutions

A very Happy New Year to you all!

1 The 50 Book Challenge

This is precisely what it sounds like! My reading goal for 2015 was forty new books, and it’s that extra rule about them being new reads which slowed me down. I’m hoping that by counting rereads as well as new ones in 2016, I won’t find this too much of a stretch. I want to increase my reading goals a little bit each year, and I made it to thirty six new books this year Because they weren’t in my total, I didn’t count my rereads – but I have a feeling they would have made it up to fifty. 

2 2016 Classics challenge
2016 Classics Challenge
The idea is to read one classic book a month for 2016. There are a lot of classics I’ve never read, and I’m hoping this will motivate me to power through some more. These obviously also still go towards my total for the year as well, which is always helpful! Some I’d really like to get around to include The Catcher in the Rye, Of Mice and Men, Animal Farm and The Hobbit.

More info on the 2016 Classics Challenge from Pretty Books 

3 Authors to read more of:

Ali Smith I own a lot of unread Ali Smith books. Occasionally I stare at them, trying to decide who to pick first, and then divert to something else entirely out of indecision. My collection includes: Girl meets boy, The accidental, There but for the, Hotel World, How to be both and the first person and other stories – only one of which I’ve read all the way through. On the advice of Jen Campbell though, I’ve chosen where to start, and I’m deciding not to dither any longer!

girl meets boy

Jeanette Winterson I have three books of hers and have now read (and adored) them all – so this is definitely a year I want to spread into more of her work. I’m especially interested in her adaptations of myth (Weight) and Shakespeare (A Gap in Time).

Margaret Atwood I’ve read my first Atwood very recently (The Penelopiad) and I’m dying to read more! I was also given The Robber Bride and The Blind Assassin for Christmas, so I’ll be delving into these happily in the new year!
The Handmaid's Tale
Michel Faber I read and loved The Book of Strange New Things this year, so I’m really interested to read his other works, especially The Crimson Petal and the White.

4 Authors to read for the first time:

David Mitchell I’ve had a copy of Cloud Atlas on my shelf for years. I bought it with birthday money when I was maybe fifteen or sixteen, and it went over my head. I got a chapter or so in and didn’t want to keep wading through it. I returned to it in University, when I was seeking fiction written from many perspectives as reference for my final writing project, but I didn’t have the time to read it properly, as I was only skimming, and from an academic perspective rather than having time to enjoy it! But I’m hopeful I’ll enjoy it – hopeful enough that I already have a copy of The Bone Clocks on my shelf to follow it with!

Rachel Joyce Again, I have a neglected copy on my shelf of The Unlikely Pilgramage of Harold Fry. I’ve heard more about it since I picked it up (which I can’t actually remember!) so this year I want to give it a go.
the unlikely pilgramage of harold fry
R
ainbow Rowell I like good YA Fiction and I’ve heard this lady’s name a lot. I have a copy of Eleanor and Park which is due some attention, so this year I’m resolving to give it that.

Marilynne Robinson I have a feeling I’m going to enjoy her books – which is really the best reason there is to start reading them!

 

Top 5 TBR for 2016

There are a few books I’m extra excited to get to reading soon…

The Robber Bride, by Margaret Atwood
robber bride
The Accidental, by Ali Smith
accidental the
The Sky is Everywhere, by Jandy Nelson
sky is everywhere the
The Girl Who Navigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making, by Catherynne M Valente
girl who circumnavigated fairyland
The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon
bone season the

Do you have reading resolutions for 2016? Let me know in comments, and I hope you’ve had a lovely start to the year!

The DoodleMole

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading Resolutions

Leave a Reply

