January Wrap Up (2016)

Something new for this year – I’m going to give monthly wrap-up posts a go. In part to keep better track of what I’m reading when, and I think it might be nice to have a little round up each month of what I’ve loved and what I haven’t. Space for a bit of reflection on where I want to continue.

Books I read this month

 Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D Schmidt
Review Here
192 pages
9/10

Serious Concerns by Wendy Cope
Review Here
87 pages
8/10

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
Review Posting 10th Feb
272 pages
8/10

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
Review to be posted simultaneous with The Mime Order
496 pages
7.5/10

Started in January

Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter (184 of 350 pages)

My read for January in the 2016 Classics Challenge – I know, I really need to get a move on with this…
I’ve enjoyed what I read so far, and I’m not sure why I had trouble finding motivation to keep going. I will be trying to get through it asap, and make sure that I finish my Classics Challenge read for February actually within the month…!
On that note – my February Classic is going to be Silas Marner by George Eliot.

The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon (67 of 528 pages)

Following on from The Bone Season, which I really enjoyed. Knowing that this is going to be a seven-part series, how much I enjoy this one is really the decider for whether I continue to follow the series with the next release. The pace is very different in this book, so I’m withholding any concrete thoughts on the matter until I’m at least halfway through.
I’m planning to review both books together in one post, which is why I haven’t posted about The Bone Season yet.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig (50 of 266 pages)

I’d had my eye on this for a while, so with the release of the paperback I decided to dive in. I started reading right away and while my progress has been slow, I’m enjoying it and finding Haig’s insights and reflections interesting, particularly since his experience with depression seems very different to my own.

Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex by Mary Roach (59 of 319 pages)

I read Mary Roach’s Stiff: The curious lives of human cadavers while in University, and on my hunt for more non-fiction to read this year came across more books of hers. This book is super interesting, with lots of complex information condensed into an easily comprehensible format, with her wit always lightening the tone.

Total pages read in January: 1407

Books I bought this month

…for the sake of not rattling on forever, I’m not gonna comment on these ones!

The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern
Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex by Mary Roach
Born Weird by Andrew Kaufman
The Waterproof Bible by Andrew Kaufman
A Corner of White by Jaclyn Moriarty
Dreaming of Amelia by Jaclyn Moriarty
love in the afternoon and other stories by Penny Vincenzi
Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding
Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

2 thoughts on “January Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

