February Wrap Up (2016)

 

February was quite a strange reading month of either very strong reading binges (four books, three days) or of a complete inability to sit down and concentrate. I’m most frustrated that I still haven’t finished reading The Mime Order, even though in January I whizzed through The Bone Season and really enjoyed it. An email from Goodreads just informed me that I started reading The Mime Order 33 days ago, and asked if I want to update my progress. Embarrassingly, there’s nothing to update: I’m still on page 67.

I did however manage to make it through my Classic for February – possibly because this month I chose a short book, and one I’ve read before, although it was quite a few years ago.

Life seems incredibly busy at the moment – every weekend there’s something happening. Always lovely things, but they eat up the time. If in the evenings I have something else that needs doing (likely) or my brain is too tired to focus (more likely), I end up either not reading at all, or reading something which doesn’t require a lot of attention from me. No offence to the chick-lit I read a lot of in February, but I enjoyed it in part because it demanded less from my brain.

Also, 3rd March was World Book Day. I hope you all had a lovely bookish day!

world book day

Books I Read This Month

Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter
Review Here
January Classics Challenge – final 166 pages of 350
7/10

How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne
Review Here
480 pages
7/10

Soulmates by Holly Bourne
Review Here
544 pages
5.5/10

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Review Here
464 pages
7.5/10

Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher
Review posting 12th March
402 pages
5/10

Silas Marner by George Elliott
Review posting 19th March
240 pages
9/10

2016 Reading progress: 10/50 books read

Started in February

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (24 of 530 pages)

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley (40 of 309 pages)

These both were subject to my lack of attention span – I started one evening and loved what I read, but felt like I wasn’t taking it in or appreciating it properly, which is why they were abandoned for the rest of the month. Perhaps I’ll revisit them properly soon, we’ll see…

Total pages read in February: 2360

Books I Bought This Month

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne
Soulmates by Holly Bourne
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson
One by Sarah Crossan
Playing to the Gallery by Grayson Perry

3 thoughts on “February Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

