March Wrap Up (2016)

I’ve really enjoyed my reading in the latter half of this month. The first couple of weeks I wasn’t reading much, but I picked up Life After Life and was completely swept away. Mostly I’ve been reading Kate Atkinson, and of the two I read I really loved the pacing. While they’re long books, they didn’t feel like a slog, and really nicely suited little snippets of reading or longer sessions, which fit the routine I developed the past couple of weeks perfectly. I also loved the connections between the two books. They are wonderful companions to each other while being intensely different stories. I loved picking up A God in Ruins and rejoining all these characters I was so fond of, and being introduced to a few more – as to be honest I wasn’t ready to leave them at the end of Life After Life.


I honestly thought that I wasn’t going to manage a classic this month, because I’d been so engrossed in Kate Atkinson. By 30th March I had no classic even chosen and thought I was going to have to forfeit a month. I finished A God in Ruins quicker than I expected though, and spotted a thin little volume of Maya Angelou’s poetry on my shelf which I’d never read, and thought, why not. It was a great choice.

Books I Read This Month

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
622 pages
8.5/10
Review 9th April

Here by Richard McGuire
304 pages
8/10
Review 16th April

A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
552 pages
9/10
Review 23rd April

And Still I Rise by Maya Angelou
100 pages
9/10
March Classic Review 13th April

2016 Reading progress: 14/ 50 books

Books I Started in March

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard
217 pages of 322 (will finish early April; Review 30th April)

Total pages read in March: 1795
Total pages read in 2016: 5562

Books I Bought This Month

A Year of Marvellous Ways by Sarah Winman (Gift)
The Fire Gospel by Michel Faber
Fiere by Jackie Kay
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
Emotionally Weird by Kate Atkinson
Home by Richard McGuire
Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
The Remains by Annie Freud
Little Tales of Misogyny by Patricia Highsmith
The View on the Way Down by Rebecca Wait
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

3 thoughts on “March Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

