World Book Night 2016

WBN 2016 Banner

Happy World Book Night, Everybody!

Tonight across the UK and Ireland, thousands of volunteers will give away hundreds of thousands of books – a quarter of a million, in fact! – to people who do not read regularly, to share the joy of books. Since 2011, over two million books have been given as gifts. The editions cannot be bought, and are printed exclusively for the event each year.

The World Book Night titles for 2016

WBN 2016 Books

I applied at the end of last year to be an official giver, and I’m delighted to be giving official editions for the fourth year running. The book I’ve been assigned was my fourth choice of title, and not one I’d read before. I actually read it because I would be giving it, and I’m so glad I did!

This event over the past few years has connected me with my communities, got me talking to strangers about books, and introduced me to new titles. And let’s be honest, there’s a special joy in receiving a box full of books – even when they’re not for you!

The book I’m giving this year is Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.

In previous years I’ve given Essential Poems from the Staying Alive Trilogy edited by Neil Astley (2015), Whatever It Takes by Adele Parks (2014) and Why be happy when you could be normal? by Jeanette Winterson (2013). In 2014 I also independently gave copies of The Fault in Our Stars to friends.

Recent studies have found that World Book Night is a catalyst for change – which is part of why I love being involved. For more information about World Book Night and The Reading Agency visit their websites.

Bkod Thumbnail

Leave a Reply

