Bookish Events (& an Update)

Hello lovely blog readers. I have two updates, and then to keep this post from being too boring I’m going to chat a little about the bookish events I’m going to in June!

Bookish Events

I’m going to some events in June that I’m really excited for, starting with Chris Cleave, author of The Other Hand, at Topping and Company in Bath discussing his new book Everyone Brave is Forgotten.

Event Description:
Join us as Chris Cleave, the multi-award-winning author of The Other Hand, talks about his breathtaking new novel, Everyone Brave is Forgiven. When war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. Tom Shaw decides to give it a miss – until his flatmate Alistair unexpectedly enlists, and the conflict can no longer be avoided. Young, bright and brave, Mary is certain she’d be a marvelous spy. When she is – bewilderingly – made a teacher, she instead finds herself defying prejudice to protect the children her country would rather forget. This dazzling novel weaves little-known history, and a perfect love story, through the vast sweep of the Second World War – daring us to understand that, against the great theatre of world events, it is the intimate losses, the small battles, the daily human triumphs, that change us most.

A couple of days later, I’m going back to Topping and Company for Kit de Waal discussing her book My Name is Leon, one that I am incredibly excited about.

Event Description: 
Kit de Waal has spent her life in the world of social services: her Mother was a foster carer, she worked for fifteen years in criminal and family law, and now sits on adoption panels. It is this blend of personal and professional experience that has inspired her debut novel: My Name Is Leon. It is a heart-breaking story of love, identity and learning to overcome unbearable loss. Of the fierce bond between siblings. And how – just when we least expect it – we manage to find our way home.

Her first novel comes after claiming a horde of prizes including the Bridport Flash Fiction Prize 2014 and 2015, which have solidified her status as a rising star on the British literary scene. Join us for an evening with one of Britain’s new unignorable voices.

And at the end of the month I will be seeing Gervase Phinn, author of A Lesson in Love and The Little Village School, at Gillfest.

I haven’t yet read any of the authors whose events I’m going to this month, but I love going to events as a way to introduce myself to a writer. I find it really interesting to get a sense of what their writing is for them, and what they intend for it. As a reader and a writer, I have a strong interest in voice, and I enjoy having a sense for an author as a person and any bearing that has on their work.

If you’ve read any of these authors’ work, let me know what you think in comments! If not but you’re interested, let’s talk about that too!

The Boring Bit – Update

  1. I promised a review of the Faber New Poets pamphlets on 21st May. This did not happen, due to a combination of getting locked out of WordPress (it’s a very long story involving a hot air balloon ride and my phone. One of those things may be false) and very simply that I really struggled to write the review. Conclusion: I’m skipping it. Maybe I will come back to it in a few months when my thoughts have assembled themselves more coherently. Maybe not. We’ll see. I am behind on other posts as well, which I’m working on and will still happen.
  2. I am running a bit low on reviews to post. Usually I have a good month’s-worth of blog posts planned ahead of time, but the books I’ve read this month are mostly series, and it would be a bit much to do separate posts for every individual book. I’ve got posts planned until 11th June using the Wednesday/ Saturday routine I’ve got into. I’ll be trying to read lots of standalones in the next couple of weeks, but if that doesn’t happen I’ll either be posting once weekly instead, or there will be more Lit Lists and generic posts!
Leave a Reply

