May Wrap Up (2016)

May has been a month of almost solid fantasy. I started out while still finishing Harry Potter and moved on to finish the Grisha trilogy, which I loved. I then picked up Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series, and could not put them down. I’m a little (a lot) in love.

I sat up until 5am finishing Crown of Midnight, waited impatiently to get my hands on books three and four. In the five-day interval it took for those to arrive, I read the prequel novellas bind-up The Assassin’s Blade, and then re-read Throne of Glass. I did decide that for this year, rereads count towards my target, which is why I’m counting it twice – even if it was within the same month!

I also read a delightful short story by Leigh Bardugo called The Too Clever Fox, which loosely exists in her world of the Grisha. It’s too short to count as a whole book (that would be cheating on my target, really), but marking it read on Goodreads means I can use it to fill in for not being able to mark Throne of Glass on there twice… reasonable?

I’m also pleased with my choice of classic for May, although my thoughts on the book itself are more complicated. Of Mice and Men is one of those books that almost everyone had read, but I didn’t take it at GCSE and decided it was time for me to understand what makes it so widely loved.

Books I Read This Month

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling
121 of 223 pages
10/10
Review

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
400 pages
8/10
Review

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
368 pages
8/10
Review

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
121 pages
8/10
Review 15th June

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas (x2)
406 pages
7/10
Review 8th June

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas
418 pages
9/10
Review 8th June

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas
430 pages
8/10
Review 8th June

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
562 pages
9/10
Review 8th June

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
645 pages
9/10
Review 8th June

2016 Reading progress: 32/ 50 books

Total pages read in May: 3,877
Total pages read in 2016: 11,261

Books I Bought This Month

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Karen Millwood-Hargrave
The Reader on the 6.27 by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas
Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (Pre-ordered)
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Pre-ordered)
Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter
Public library and other stories by Ali Smith
All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld
The Pursuit of Love by Nandy Mitford
the good story by J.M Coetzee and Arabella Kurtz

2 thoughts on “May Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

