June Wrap Up (2016)

I started this month off quite slowly, mostly reading bits and bobs of short stories and magazines, not settling into a book. I went to a wonderful event at the beginning of the month in Bath with Chris Cleave, where I bought a copy of his book Everyone Brave is Forgiven and was really impressed to hear him speak. When I started I figured it was going to be a similar read to The Book of Strange New Things or Life After Life for me, in that I would take it at a pretty even pace to absorb everything.

Everyone Brave is a wonderful book set in WWII, following two people falling in love and how war changes not just people’s lives, but people. Chris Cleave’s writing is brilliant, but this month saw such a glut of dreadful things happen in the world that I just wasn’t up to a war story, particularly not one that seems so honest. So I put Everyone Brave to one side, for the moment. I will come back to it when I am feeling a bit more emotionally robust!

This month has also just been really busy, so as well as turning to some romance and poetry, I’ve done more rereading than picking up new things, for the comfort factor. I’ve been enjoying reading though, which is essentially what’s important to me, and I’m way ahead on my goal of 50 books for the year.

Books I Read This Month

The Remains by Annie Freud
96 pages
9/10
Review Here

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
400 pages
8.5/10
Review Here (Reread)

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett
272 pages
8/10
Review Here (reread)

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Saenz
359 pages
9/10
Review Here

The Good Story: Exchanges on Truth, Fiction and Psychotherapy
by J.M. Coetzee and Arabella Kurtz
208 pages
8.5/10
No review

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
403 pages
8/10
No review (reread; Mockingjay adaptation review here)

Fiere by Jackie Kay
63 pages
9.5/10
Review 6th July

2016 Reading progress: 39/ 50 books

Books I Started This Month

Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave
105 of 448 pages

Playing to the Gallery by Grayson Perry
45 of 135 pages

The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford (June classic)
65 of 192 pages

Total pages read in June: 2033
Total pages read in 2016: 13,291

Books I Bought This Month

Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave
Touch by Natalia Jaster
Trick by Natalia Jaster
Arcadia by Iain Pears
The Girls by Emma Cline

 

2 thoughts on “June Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

