Summer Holiday 2016

A couple of weeks ago I made a post with my recommended reads to take on summer holidays.  I just recently got home from my break in the Lake District, and the week had some wonderful bookish delights in between walks, food and laughs.

20160717_130402.jpg

So, what was I relaxing to in the Lakes this year?

When we arrived, I was partway through An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro, which for me was a perfect book to pop back and forth to in little chunks – the meandering pace and route of the narration, the quiet march of the plot, fit perfectly into little moments first thing in the morning, in a half hour relax, just before bed. I did finish it while still away, but I was sidetracked in the middle by purchases I made.

20160721_173944

The Lakes has some brilliant bookshops, and knowing what I’m like, I’d set a limit of five books on my trip. In fact, I broke this by buying seven – but the two extras were gorgeous editions of books I already own. I’m not sure whether that makes it any better…

The duplicates I bought were the Vintage classics copies of Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, which I think we can all agree now are just gorgeous…

At the lovely bookshop in Ambleside, I got a copy of Jackie Kay’s Life Mask, having enjoyed Fiere so much and been fascinated to hear her speak earlier in the year. I also picked up a copy of the complete trilogy of Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 – I’ve been looking for a long time for the full bind-up, as most places seem to have the bind up of books 1 and 2 and then 3 separately. Having them in one copy is nice for a lot of reasons, including saving a little bit of shelf space…

20160722_121852.jpg

 One of my favourite bookshops, among the ones I’ve visited, is Sam Read Booksellers in Grasmere village. For a pretty small shop, they have a fantastic and brilliantly curated selection, with a perfect balance between books I’ve been considering for a while and books I’ve never heard of before. I had limited myself to buying three while there, and the ones I settled on were Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford, after I enjoyed The Pursuit of Love so much.

20160722_124047

Here I also got Sarah J Maas’ other two books, to tide me over the couple of months until Empire of Storms comes out – A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury. I’d heard a lot about these among the Throne of Glass fandom – in particular I’d been told that the first book was good but slow, but everything would kick into high gear with book two (sounds familiar). These two books managed to swallow most of the remainder of my reading time while away – as with Throne of Glass, Sarah J Maas had me happily swept away into another world (review 20th August).

20160722_124047

Have you had a holiday this year? Where did you go and what did you read? Let me know in comments!

All photos used are my own. 

Leave a Reply

