August Wrap Up (2016)

The quality of what I’ve read this month has been incredible – two of these will certainly be among my favourites for the year. And, I’ve hit my target for the year a ridiculous four months early. There’s a full third of the year left. So do I add a third to my target and go for 75? Short answer: I don’t know yet. For now, I realise that eight of my 50 have been rereads, so I’m going to try and even that out with eight new reads, and then… we’ll see. Maybe I’ll just meander along for the rest of the year without setting a new target, since I expect to be pretty busy in the next few months. But I like having targets so much now that it feels unlikely I’ll last long without setting a (new) new one…

Books I Read This Month

The Tidal Zone by Sarah Moss
259 of 329 pages
10/10
Review here

The View on the Way Down by Rebecca Wait
320 pages
6/10
Review here

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
404 pages
9/10
Review 7th September

Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall
224 pages
8/10
Review 14th September

2016 Reading progress: 50/ 50 books

Books I Started This Month

Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust
46 of 536 pages
My Classic for this month has been hard going, partly because I haven’t tried that hard when I was simultaneously reading other things. I don’t know where I’m going to end up with this to be honest – I absolutely recognise why Proust’s work is so widely known and recognised the way it is, and some parts I have loved, but others I’ve felt a bit like wading through mud.

All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld
96 of 229 pages

Total pages read in August: 1090
Total pages read in 2016: 16,540

Books I Bought This Month

Asking for it by Louise O’Neill
Undying: A Love Story by Michel Faber
The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran
Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory
A Sleepwalk on the Severn by Alice Oswald
Virginia Woolf in Manhattan by Maggie Gee
The Life and Loves of a She-Devil by Fay Weldon
We, the Drowned by Carsten Jensen
A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers (Pre-ordered)
Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall (Kindle)

One thought on “August Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

