September Wrap Up (2016)

September seems have gone incredibly quickly, even though I spent a lot of it waiting. I’ve been getting prepared to go back to University, buying books I’ll be reading on my Masters course and starting one of them. Reading in general though has taken something of a back seat, since I’ve been spending lots of time reading, writing and organising in other ways. While in August I matched my lowest books per month, this month was my lowest so far this year finishing three books. My first two books this month were pure pleasure – Empire of Storms because I couldn’t have stopped myself, and Just Juliet was a beautiful comfort read.

Given that I already hit my initial target of 50 books in the year, fewer books per month isn’t really a problem. While I’ve topped up my target to 60 books, I will hit that just by reading my course books. I only finished three books, but have been reading little bits of other things here and there – dipping into short story and poetry collections which I haven’t listed below. Part of my problem this month was also the feeling of being overwhelmed by choices, and not knowing which one to pick up…

Books I Read This Month

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas
693 pages
9/10
Review here

Just Juliet by Charlotte Reagan
200 pages
7/10
Review here

Birthday Letters by Ted Hughes (September Classic)
197 pages
9/10
Review 8th October

2016 Reading progress – new target: 53/ 60 books

Books I Started This Month

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
30 of 390 pages

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
65 of 444 pages

All That Man Is by David Szalay
44 of 437 pages

Total pages read in September: 1,229
Total pages read in 2016: 17,769

Books I Bought This Month

All That Man Is by David Szalay
Conclave by Robert Harris
My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
Black Water by Louise Doughty
A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton
Here I Am by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Trees by Ali Shaw
An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It by Jessie Greenberg

One thought on “September Wrap Up (2016)

Leave a Reply

