Review: ‘The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales’ by Kirsty Logan

When I spotted this on my shelf I was hit by how far overdue I was to read it. This was a gift several Christmases ago. I was in the mood for some fairytales and just dove straight in. This review will not be in any great depth, but just to record some surface thoughts and feelings.

rental-heart-and-other-fairytales

These stories were pretty delightful. Perfect for those little free moments for dipping into, most are very short, but packed with a lot of plot and intense imagery. Several of them tugged on my heartstrings, and there is some incredibly tightly-packed beautiful prose here.

Overall, I preferred Logan’s novel The Gracekeepers for the expansion of character and world building it has the space to do. Some of these stories felt rushed through to me – a lot happens in a short space of the page which I would have enjoyed being lingered over. This could be a product of how I read them though – I took these stories like shots, intense and fast.

2017-03-03

Book Only

One thought on “Review: ‘The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales’ by Kirsty Logan

Leave a Reply

