Review: ‘Talking as Fast As I Can’ by Lauren Graham

Last year when I was feeling run down and wanted something comforting to read, I mostly picked up YA fiction: My Life Next Door and Been Here All Along, rereading Aristotle and Dante and Anna and the French Kiss. This year, it’s looking like non-fiction and memoir might be my recuperating brain-space books.

Graham, Lauren 1

I am a relatively recent convert to the wonder of ‘Gilmore girls’. I first watched a few episodes in November 2015, but didn’t watch the series in full until July 2016. I didn’t realise at the time, but I started watching on the first day it was available on Netflix UK – at least, according to Internet information and my Instagram activity. I am less than a year into my Gilmores obsession, currently on S3 E15 of my sixth, or maybe seventh rewatch? I have lost count already. I am in good company to say, I love this series a lot.

So Lauren Graham’s book about being Lorelai Gilmore, and many other things besides, was an obvious pick. Someone whose voice you’re familiar with gives a book an easy rhythm to get into. This was brilliant to relax into and be carried along by, full with great anecdotes and reflections. As comfort reading, this was precisely what I wanted – funny, warm and direct.

2017-03-12 (2)

Book Only

2 thoughts on “Review: ‘Talking as Fast As I Can’ by Lauren Graham

Leave a Reply

