Review: The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh

This will be a very brief review. My schedule has gone a little wonky this week, but I’m trying to get back on track.

First impressions are important, but odd. This book is one that took me a while to get into – the prose is thick with description and lyrical to read, the backstories are complex and intricate. Yet there are other books I got into much more easily which in the end, I liked less. I really enjoyed this.

Ghosh, Amitav 1

This novel takes place in the Sundarbans, and focuses on the arrival there of Piya Roy, an American with Indian heritage, and Kanai Dutt, a business visiting family following a death.

There are a lot of incredibly well-drawn characters here – even those who only feature briefly are very tangibly created. However, as with several books I’ve read for my course this term, I feel that reading at the pace necessitated in some ways hindered my full appreciation of the book. It’s on that very strongly impressed me, but I don’t have a clear view on why that was, and for that reason is one I want to consider rereading.

wp-1489948555813.jpg

Book Only

2 thoughts on “Review: The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh

Leave a Reply

