Quarter Year Goals

My goal in 2017 is 50 books. So far, from the beginning of January to the end of March, I’ve finished 16 books.

Of the books I’ve read so far this year, eight have been general fiction while two more were young adult fiction. I’ve read two short story collections, one poetry anthology and three non-fiction books. Three have been rereads. Length have varied from 57 pages to 784 pages.

One of my goals for this year is to shift my reading away from YA and more towards general fiction, in particular literary fiction. I’m doing better on that in large part due to my University reading list. I am finding though that the more I push myself to read books which are outside of my comfort zone, the broader my comfort zone becomes.

Compared to last year, I have also been managing to mix in more of my own reading with reading for University. While these books might take me longer to get through, I’m regaining the habit of having multiple things on the go, which over the past couple of years I have lost a bit, perhaps because I’ve always been reading towards a goal.

Books I’ve really loved so far are A Strangeness in my Mind by Orhan Pamuk and The Wolf Border by Sarah Hall. Both gave me a glimpse into things which are unfamiliar to me, yet also have an understated current of universal feeling to them.

What books have you loved so far this year? Let me know in comments!

wp-1490779882434.jpg

January Wrap UpFebruary Wrap UpMarch Wrap Up

Books:

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas
  2. Selected Short Stories, Virginia Woolf (review)
  3. A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J Maas
  4. A Strangeness in my Mind, Orhan Pamuk (review)
  5. Off the Shelf: A Celebration of Bookshops in Verse, ed. Carol Ann Duffy
  6. Ecocritcism on the Edge, Timothy Clarke
  7. White Noise, Don DeLillo (review)
  8. The Other Boleyn Girl, Philippa Gregory
  9. The Hunter, Julia Leigh (review)
  10. We are all Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (review)
  11. Being a Quaker: a guide for newcomers, Geoffrey Durham
  12. The Rental Heart and other fairytales, Kirsty Logan (review)
  13. The Wolf Border, Sarah Hall (review)
  14. Talking as fast as I can, Lauren Graham (review)
  15. The Hungry Tide, Amitav Ghosh (review)
  16. The Elephant Keeper, Christopher Nicholson (review)

Book Only

Leave a Reply

