Summer 2017 Top ‘TBR’

As a rule, I don’t like to write prescriptive TBRs. I usually don’t manage to stick to them. But I have so many unread books on my shelves at the moment that it’s starting to feel like a little bit of planning might be necessary to be sure I’m paying attention to the things I really want to. Having so many books around the house makes me very happy, but it also means that browsing as an activity is split between bookcases and rooms.

I read a lot of YA last year, and in general I’m trying to shift towards reading fewer young adult books this year. So far I’ve read six YA books, five of which were rereads. There are a few things sitting on my YA shelves which I’m keen to pick up in the next few months though – in particular We Are Okay by Nina LaCour and The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I’ve heard so many good things about both of these! Ink by Alice BroadwayThe Graces by Laure Eve and The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury are some others which have been winking at me lately.

In terms of general fiction though, there is a lot which I am constantly struggling to even choose between at the moment. I’m having one of those reading slumps which comes from the opposite of not feeling like reading, but from feeling like reading and having too many enticing options!

With the current adaptation being shown on Channel 4 in the UK, and given how much I loved Naomi Alderman’s The Power a couple of months ago, I feel like it is well past time that I picked up The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I’ve told myself that it’s time to pick up this classic of dystopian literature several times over the past couple of years, but I think the time is close when I can’t ignore it any longer.

IMG_20170428_150315_673 (1)

Others on my shelves which keep begging me to pick them up are All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerrwhich I’ve seen a lot of booklr love for, Arcadia by Iain Pears which Jen Campbell raved about last year and I’m well overdue to actually give it the time. In connection to what I’m writing for my MA project, I’m really interested in adult fiction which centres children characters – so I’m also hoping to pick up things like Shtum by Jem LesterThe Orchard on Fire by Shena MackayA Tale for the Time Being by Ruth OzekiThe Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd.

And then there are books I just want to pick up because I’ve got that tingly feeling in my gut that they’re going to be amazing – which to be fair, includes everything else on this list as well. The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlett was written on the course I’m doing right now and it looks absolutely amazing. I have heard so many amazing things about this and the little pieces I’ve dipped into gave me butterflies. Before the film adaptation with Emma Watson comes out, I’ve been looking at The Circle by Dave Eggers. Elizabeth Strout’s follow up to My Name is Lucy BartonAnything is Possible, is calling me. A thin little volume I picked up at Cheltenham festival last year, By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept by Elizabeth Smart is another I feel like I should have read by now.

Honestly the list is never ending – this is less a formal TBR and more an explanation of how many directions my reading brain is feeling pulled in right now…

day-17-green-books

Book Only

2 thoughts on “Summer 2017 Top ‘TBR’

Leave a Reply

