Things to read when it’s too hot to think

The UK is having a heatwave right now, which I am not enjoying. I don’t cope well with heat. Like most of the country, I have not slept well for the past few nights, and I’ve been filling those hours of restless, sweaty discomfort with reading. 

At the moment, I’m reading The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald. It’s actually perfectly suited to this weather – intelligently written, but the prose is smooth enough that it’s easy and comforting to read at 2am with multiple fans blowing.

I’m also reading Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman, but I’m moving through that a bit slower. There are so many things on my shelves calling me at the moment, which I’m planning to save for my holiday next month – Anita Brookner and Nancy Mitford in particular.

If you’ve any recommendations for reading in hot weather, let me know in comments

Book Only

 

Leave a Reply

