#HarryPotter20

Monday 26th June 2017 marked twenty years since the original publication of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Everywhere you turn online, someone is telling you what they love about this series, so I’m sure you’ve heard everything I can say on that subject elsewhere already. Instead, this is a mini shelf tour of my Harry Potter collcetion. In itself, this shelf is evidence of my love for the series.

Screenshot_2017-06-27-11-25-12-1

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is probably my most-owned book, at five copies. I have (somewhere) the original paperback which my whole family read originally, which can no longer be safely read without the risk of losing pages. It’s been very well loved. When I was at University I bought a boxed set of the whole series for this reason. They live in a presentation box which says ‘Owl Post’ on the top, and all have beautiful illustrations on their covers.

Screenshot_2017-06-27-11-28-15-1-1

I do miss the original spines, though. What I do have in the original spine, just visible in that top photo to the right of Cursed Child, is Harri Potter a Maen yr Athronydd – the Welsh edition. I went to a Welsh high school, and while it keeps getting pushed back while I have other things at the top of my list, I intend to learn Welsh to a conversationally fluent level by the time I’m thirty, so this edition means a lot to me. Then there are the special editions: the illustrated version by Jim Kay, and my new 20th Anniversary Ravenclaw House edition.

Besides copies of the novels, I have a copy of the Cursed Child script which I’m yet to read, the original Comic Relief copies of Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and a copy of The Tales of Beedle the Bard.

The remainder of my collection on the right are three ‘fandom’ books – The Potter Penseive by Karen Farrington and Lewis Constable, and The Magical Worlds of Harry Potter by David Constable. I bought both of these a long time ago, and I wouldn’t really recommend either. They’re very clearly written to profit from something popular, and not with any real love of the series – both of my copies are covered in pencil corrections where mistakes have been made!

Screenshot_2017-06-26-20-21-34-2

One of my favourite things about this shelf, though, is my McGonagall figure. Minerva McGonagall is my favourite character in the series, closely followed by Molly Weasley. This Funko!Pop vinyl figure has her wand in hand, finger pointed, mid-scolding. She reminds me every day that I should be writing.

I hope everyone enjoyed the 20th Anniversary on Monday, but mostly I wish you all the continued enjoyment that I have in this series. And now I’m off to read them again….

20170627_111856-1

Book Only

Leave a Reply

