June Wrap Up (2017)

June has been surprising. I feel like I’ve spent a lot of time reading but it’s been slow progress. Whether measuring by books (three) or pages read, this month was my lowest total so far this year. I am mired in uni work – between now and September I am on the final stretch with a lot of writing to do, and because of that I’m distracted. My brain is ‘on’ constantly, and mostly inside my own book. I’ve been slowed down because I have to take notes – I read something and it gives me ideas, so I still there staring at the wall thinking of how I can apply this to my writing instead. My mind never stops whirring and it’s took three genuinely amazing books to get me to pay attention at all. All three of will be in my thoughts when I come to write about my favourites of the year.

Books I Read This Month

Free Love and Other Stories by Ali Smith
160 pages
8/10
Review here

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson
 192 pages
9/10
Review here

The Blue Flower by Penelope Fitzgerald
280 pages
9/10
Review here

2017 Reading progress: 30/50 books

Books I Bought This Month

The Blue Flower, Penelope Fitzgerald
The Bookshop, Penelope Fitzgerald
The Dark Flood Rises, Margaret Drabble
Swallowing Mercury, Wioletta Greg
The Naive and the Sentimental Novelist, Orhan Pamuk
The Names They Gave Us, Emery Lord
Pigeon English, Stephen Kelman
Days Without End, Sebastian Barry
Nutshell, Ian McEwan
The Mortal Instruments books 1-6, Cassandra Clare
Clockwork Angel, Cassandra Clare

One thought on “June Wrap Up (2017)

Leave a Reply

