Jan – June 2017 | Half Year Goals

2017 Reading Progress: 30/50 books

My reading so far this year has been interesting. I’ve felt like I’m in a slump for most of the year, yet I’m still ahead of my target by five books. In part I think this is down to University reading – not only were there a number of books I had to read by a certain date, it has reinforced the habit of reading, whether I feel like it or not. I have spent a lot of time flitting between books I haven’t finished, picking things up and getting distracted, and this is probably where the slump-like feeling is coming from.

Despite this, I have read some really amazing books this year. I’m glad to be ahead of my target – for the next few months, I’m going to be mostly focusing on writing rather than reading, as my final MA hand-in of 40,000 words approaches at the end of September. My June wrap up was a bit thin compared to usual, with just three books, and this may be the trend for a while yet. If I do end up behind on my target, I should have time to catch up from October though. Fingers crossed…!

 

The thirty books I’ve read so far break down into fourteen novels, six young adult, five nonfiction, four short story, and one poetry.

I set myself a goal of reading more general fiction and moving away from YA this year, which has been easier than I expected. Except for the newly released A Court of Wings and Ruin, all of the young adult books I’ve read so far have been re-reads.

I didn’t set any specific goals this year in relation to rereading or reading new fiction. Of seven rereads so far, five have been young adult, one for university and one Philippa Gregory.

I did set a goal of reading all of my university books though, which unfortunately I didn’t manage. I failed to finish Barbara Kingsolver’s Flight Behaviour, essentially due to time and the fact that it is a very long book. It’s a bit disappointing – perhaps I’ll come back to it later in the year.

 

Favourites so far? I feel like I’ve got more options this time than when I did my quarter year goals. Possibly because since then I’ve chosen all of my own books. The Power completely blew me away, Sleeping Giants was really different. A Court of Wings and Ruin didn’t disappoint, and has left me with quite a book hangover. Another Brooklyn is a spectacular book, which I’m already desperate to reread. And The Blue Flower surprised me in so many ways

 

While I’ve enjoyed almost every book I’ve read this year, but I think there are more which I really loved than at the same time last year, which I’m really pleased with. I can try to read more and more books every year, but there is an upper limit to what I’m capable of reading – and because of that I have a certain anxiety about choosing well.

What books have you loved so far this year? My TBR is already never-ending, but if you have any recommendations, do leave them in comments…

Books Read, January – June 2017

JanuaryFebruaryMarchApril May June

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas (reread)
  2. Selected Short Stories, Virginia Woolf
  3. A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J Maas
  4. A Strangeness in My Mind, Orhan Pamuk
  5. Off the Shelf, ed. Carol Ann Duffy
  6. Ecocriticism on the Edge: The Anthropocene as a Threshold Concept, Timothy Clark
  7. White Noise, Don DeLillo
  8. The Hunter, Julia Leigh
  9. The Other Boleyn Girl, Philippa Gregory (reread)
  10. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (reread)
  11. The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales, Kirsty Logan
  12. Being a Quaker, Geoffrey Durham
  13. The Wolf Border, Sarah Hall
  14. Talking as fast as I can, Lauren Graham
  15. The Hungry Tide, Amitav Ghosh
  16. The Burrow, Franz Kafka
  17. The Elephant Keeper, Christopher Nicholson
  18. Living our Beliefs, Graham Ralph & Young Quakers
  19. Breath, Tim Winton
  20. New Light: 12 Quaker Voices, ed. Jennifer Kavanagh
  21. The Power, Naomi Alderman
  22. Sleeping Giants, Sylvain Neuvel
  23. Clade, James Bradley
  24. A Court of Wings and Ruin, Sarah J Maas
  25. Shadow and Bone, Leigh Bardugo (reread)
  26. Siege and Storm, Leigh Bardugo (reread)
  27. Ruin and Rising, Leigh Bardugo (reread)
  28. Free Love and Other Stories, Ali Smith
  29. Another Brooklyn, Jacqueline Woodson
  30. The Blue Flower, Penelope Fitzgerald
Leave a Reply

