Post-Deadline TBR

At the end of September I will hand in the final 40,000 words for my Masters course. I have loved this year – it has taught me so much and given me great opportunities. But it has also cut down on my reading time. This time last year I was about thirteen books ahead of where I am now. Overall, I’m pleased with how much I’ve read alongside studying, but of course I still have a stack of books I haven’t read for now which I want to read once I’m done. Below are a few of those…

Tin Man, Sarah Winman  At the beginning of August I saw Sarah Winman at Booka Bookshop, interviewed by the wonderful Simon Savidge. I was already incredibly interested in the book, but after that I couldn’t resist. I’m planning to set aside time to read this in one sitting.

The Last Tudor, Philippa Gregory  I ‘rediscovered’ the joy of Gregory a few years ago when a copy of The King’s Curse jumped out at me in a bookshop. Even so, I have this and her previous book Three Sisters, Three Queens to catch up on. I can’t wait.

Tower of Dawn, Sarah J Maas  Over the past year and a bit since I picked up the first Throne of Glass book, I can’t resist a new Maas book on the shelves for a bit of time to just enjoy a good yarn. I really missed Chaol in Empire of Storms, so I’m excited to find out what he’s been up to.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Gail Honeyman  Earlier this year, I could hardly turn anywhere bookish without seeing love for this book. I know very little about it, but lots of people I trust say that it is great.

and lastly…

How to Stop Time, Matt Haig  I have heard so much about this book that my ears are ringing. Everyone loves it. I accidentally read the first chapter when I got it home and I can tell it’s going to fill me from top to toe with happy lovely fuzziness. And possibly make me cry. What more do you want in a book?

Book Only

Leave a Reply

